Deadline: July 19, 2024 23:59 CEST
[Oops, the opportunity has already expired. Sign up to AlphaGamma weekly newsletters to stay ahead of the game]
| Apply here
Eligibility: institutions, organizations, and individuals promoting literacy through effective and innovative program

UNESCO with its International Literacy Prizes has been honoring excellence and innovation in literacy for over 50 years.

This year as well, six awards are available for individuals or organizations that hold exceptional projects advancing literacy.

2024 International Literacy Prizes

Through these prizes, UNESCO aims to support effective literacy practices and foster the development of dynamic literate societies. Moreover, it honors the efforts of governments, non-governmental organizations, and individuals committed to advancing literacy. 

2024 Literacy Prizes focus on the theme: “Promoting multilingual education: Literacy for mutual understanding and peace”. It invites a multilingual approach in the hopes of promoting mutual understanding and respect, while also solidifying communal identities and collective histories.

envelope icon

Subscribe to AlphaGamma!

Receive the latest articles, news, events, business & career opportunities to your inbox!

Currently, there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize

Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea it gives special consideration to mother language-based literacy development. The award commemorates King Sejong, the inventor of the Korean alphabet, and greatly supports the fight against illiteracy.
Each year, three winners receive a medal, a diploma, and US$20.000.

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy

Established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China, it focuses on functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth.
Three winners receive a medal, a diploma, and US$30.000.

Selection criteria and eligibility

Candidates must demonstrate effective results in literacy and post-literacy activities, particularly those integrating mother language-based literacy development within basic education programs. Moreover, they need to have made significant contributions to promoting literacy.

Eligible candidates include individuals, institutions, public or private entities, and non-governmental organizations. To qualify, programs must be currently operational and have demonstrated innovative work in literacy for at least two years.

Application process

The application process for the International Literacy Prizes involves two stages. First, applicants must fill in and submit an application form through either a National Commission for UNESCO or an International Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) maintaining official relations with UNESCO. Once submitted, the concerned National Commission or international NGO will review and nominate successful candidates to the Secretariat of the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

If you wish to find out more, follow this link.

Interested in applying for the 2024 International Literacy Prizes? Register your participation by following the registration link and taking the suggested steps.

For more life-changing opportunities, subscribe to our weekly newsletter and follow us on X, Facebook, Instagram, and LinkedIn.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here