Deadline: September 15, 2015 | Apply here
[Oops, the opportunity has already expired. Sign up to AlphaGamma weekly newsletters to stay ahead of the game]
Eligibility: Applicants from Azerbaijan, Belarus, Cambodia, Egypt, Ethiopia, Laos, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
Scholarship: Tuition and mandatory university fees, monthly stipend for room, board, and other living expenses, program-related travel, accident and sickness insurance

The Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) provide fully-funded master’s degree study to individuals who clearly demonstrate academic and professional excellence and a deep commitment to leading positive social change in their communities.

The Civil Society Leadership Awards 2016-2017

The purpose of the Program is to directly assist future leaders in countries where civil society is challenged by a deficit of democratic practice in local governance and social development. Awards are available for master’s degree study at various institutions across the world in the following areas:

  • Communications & Media
  • Culture, History & Society
  • Development Studies
  • Economics
  • Education Management & Leadership
  • Environment & Natural Resource Management
  • Gender Studies
  • Law & Human Rights
  • Politics & International Studies
  • Public Health & Health Management
  • Public Policy & Administration
  • Social Work & Social Policy

Applicants must select a field of study that falls within the general categories listed above. For example, those interested in studying Climate Change or Risk and Environmental Hazard would select the Environment and Natural Resource Management option; for Sociology or Anthropology, select Culture, History & Society, and so on. On the application you will indicate both your general category of interest and your specific field of study within that general category.


Civil Society Leadership Awards are available to citizens of the following countries*:

  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Cambodia
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Laos
  • Libya
  • Republic of Congo
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan

*Awards for study at German universities are only open to citizens of Azerbaijan, Belarus, Ethiopia, Sudan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.


Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a citizen of an eligible country;
  • Demonstrate maturity, flexibility and civil society leadership potential;
  • Have excellent academic records and a bachelor’s degree awarded before the deadline;
  • Have proficiency in the language of instruction (English, German or French) at the desired university program, as evidenced by standardized language test scores;
  • Be able to participate in an intensive academic writing program in July or August 2016 and start their degree program in August or September 2016;
  • Be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country; and
  • Demonstrate a clear commitment to return to their home country or region to continue supporting open society development.


Successful applicants will receive the following support:

  • Tuition and mandatory university fees;
  • Monthly stipend for room, board, and other living expenses;
  • Program-related travel;
  • Accident and sickness insurance during the program;
  • Funds for educational materials and professional development;
  • Attendance at a regional grantee conference;
  • Pre-academic preparation via summer schools in Turkey or Thailand.


The application deadline is September 15, 2015. To submit your entry, click here.
If you have any questions, check the FAQ section or write to:

For more business and career opportunities, check our opportunities section and subscribe to our weekly newsletters.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here