Deadline: April 30, 2021 00:00 CEST| Apply here
[Oops, the opportunity has already expired. Sign up to AlphaGamma weekly newsletters to stay ahead of the game]
Eligibility: The Award aims at young architects and designers currently studying architecture, landscape architecture, interior design and general design, and at young professionals in their first two years of professional practice. All participants must be under the age of 30 years. Students must have completed their basic courses or passed their intermediate diploma examinations or obtained their B.A. degrees. Young professionals must have been born after 1st January 1991.

IAKS Architecture and Design Awards 2021

IAKS Architecture and Design Awards aims to identify and promote trends for transforming communities and urban areas into places of active living as well as building sustainable facilities.

As part of their commitment to excellence, the three organizations are inviting submissions for the IOC IPC IAKS 2021 Architecture and Design Award for Students and Young Professionals for innovative ideas, designs and concepts for sports, leisure and recreational facilities.

The mission

The goal of enhancing the human experience and appreciation of sports, leisure and recreation and the need to ensure equal, dignified and functional access to sport and leisure facilities are fundamental to the IOC, IPC and IAKS.

This includes access for all citizens, regardless of their physical abilities, as well as the protection of the environment through skilful design, the use of materials, and creativity. Achieving global sustainability goals and adaption to the consequences of climate change are also part of this mission.

Who should apply?

For many cities aspiring to become healthy places with pleasant living conditions, sports, leisure and recreational facilities are becoming increasingly important.

In their strategy to promote youth and to safeguard and promote access to sport and leisure for all members of the community regardless of physical, sensory or intellectual limitations, the IOC, the IPC and the IAKS are calling on young architects and designers to dedicate their enthusiasm and imagination in the creation of areas and spaces for active lifestyles.

It is the shared aspiration of the IOC, IPC and IAKS for young architects who create sporting environments for all citizens at an early stage in their career will continue this practice in later years so that inclusive design becomes second nature to them.


Award winners will receive prize money as follows:

  • Gold: EUR 1,000,-
  • Silver: EUR 500,-
  • Bronze: EUR 300,-

Awards winners will additionally receive financial support to cover their travel expenses to the prize-giving ceremony.

The prize-giving ceremony for the competition will be held at the 27th IAKS Congress in Cologne, Germany on 26th October 2021.

Interested in applying for the IAKS Architecture and Design Awards 2021? Register your participation by following the registration link and taking the suggested steps.

For more life-changing opportunities, subscribe to our weekly newsletter and follow us on TwitterFacebook, Instagram and LinkedIn.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here