Deadline: March 31, 2017 | Register here
All authors must be at least 18 years old
totals USD 2 million per competition cycle. The prize money for each of the five regional competitions is USD 330,000, including USD 70,000 for Next Generation prizes.
Location: Global

LafargeHolcim Awards 2017

International Awards for Sustainable Construction

The LafargeHolcim Awards is the most significant global competition in sustainable design. Organized by the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction, the competition identifies the ideas with the highest potential to tackle today’s challenges to increasing urbanization and to improve the quality of life.

The competition is open for projects in architecture, building and civil engineering, landscape and urban design, materials, products and construction technologies that contribute to the five “target issues” for sustainable construction. They include:

  • Innovation and transferability – PROGRESS
  • Ethical standards and social inclusion – PEOPLE
  • Resource and environmental performance – PLANET
  • Economic viability and compatibility – PROSPERITY
  • Contextual and aesthetic impact – PLACE

The competition has two categories with different requirements

LafargeHolcim Awards (main category)

  • Project has reached an advanced stage of design with high probability of execution
  • All authors must be at least 18 years of age
  • Execution of the project may not have started before July 4, 2016

Next Generation (young professionals and students category)

  • Visionary projects and bold ideas
  • All authors must be between 18 and 30 years of age
  • Execution of the project (if applicable) may not have started before July 4, 2016

Key requirements

  • Author and contact details of all team members
  • Technical details: location, dimensions, materials, costs and other key data
  • Project summary: background and project concept (text up to 800 characters)
  • Statements on sustainability concept: response to the “target issues” for sustainable construction (3 statements up to 800 characters each)
  • 5-10 project images (high-resolution image files with captions)
  • Image of author/team (high-resolution image file with caption)


LafargeHolcim Awards (main category)

  • Gold USD 100,000
  • Silver USD 50,000
  • Bronze USD 30,000
  • 4 Awards Acknowledgement prizes of USD 20,000 each

Next Generation

  • 1st prize USD 25,000
  • 2nd prize USD 20,000
  • 3rd prize USD 15,000
  • 4th prize USD 10,000

Global LafargeHolcim Awards

The 15 recipients of regional LafargeHolcim Awards Gold, Silver and Bronze are automatically nominated for the Global LafargeHolcim Awards in 2018.

  • Gold USD 150,000
  • Silver USD 100,000
  • Bronze USD 50,000

A Global LafargeHolcim Jury Wild Card Award of USD 50,000 will be chosen from all 2017 regional winners.

For more business and career opportunities, check our opportunities section and subscribe to our weekly newsletters.