Through this high-level selection system, please be aware that every country has its own deadlines for the call. The generally communicated WSA deadline is the time frame of the global call and communicates the last possible date of a nomination by the national expert panel.

Deadline: August 31, 2020 00:00 CEST*| Apply here
[Oops, the opportunity has already expired. Sign up to AlphaGamma weekly newsletters to stay ahead of the game]
Eligibility: WSA is open to any company, organisation or individual in any UN and UNESCO member state.
The participation in the WSA Young Innovators is restricted to any entrepreneur, company, student group or project team, where at least one of the founding members and the majority of the team is under the age of 26 (born on or after January 1, 1994) from any of the UN and UNESCO member states.

World Summit Awards 2020

The World Summit Awards are a unique awards system, selecting and promoting local digital innovation with high impact on improving society.

Is a non-monetary award system with a focus on sustainable knowledge transfer through a worldwide network. Winners benefit not from a one-time financial reward, but a lifelong partnership and integration.

The World Summit Awards are also a nomination based award system. To participate you need to be nominated by a WSA National Expert as the best national digital application in one of the 8 categories.

The nominations to WSA are possible through national contests and national Expert panel selection. Each country can only nominate one project/solution per category.

WSA Young Innovators

The World Summit Awards promotes and awards also young innovators, who developed a digital application tackling the UN SDGs.

The WSA Young Innovators is a special recognition for young social entrepreneurs under 26 years of age, using ICTs to take action on the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs).

Together with the WSA winners of each year, they are honored as outstanding digital innovation with social impact.


WSA categories reflect the UN WSIS action lines and are updated regularly to meet the development of the markets. For the edition of the World Summit Awards 2020 the categories are:

  • Government & citizen engagement – services | open data | democratic participation
  • Health & well being – medical care | sport | lifestyle
  • Learning & education – knowledge | science | skills
  • Environment & green energy – climate | sustainable resources | agriculture
  • Culture & tourism – heritage | entertainment | subcultures
  • Smart settlements & urbanization – mobility | productive work | sustainable living
  • Business & commerce – innovative services | security | finance | marketing
  • Inclusion & empowerment – diversity | gender | justice | human right

Interested in applying for the World Summit Awards 2020? Register your participation by following the registration link and taking the suggested steps.

For more opportunities, check our opportunities section and subscribe to our weekly newsletters.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here